K-12 Education options

Public Schools

USD 501

Topeka Public Schools is the largest school district in Topeka with three high schools and dozens of elementary and middle schools. The district has made career readiness a priority with student opportunities to study 10 fields in a real-world setting at the TCALC. The district offers diverse learning environments and cultures.

USD 437

Auburn-Washburn School District is a large district covering southwest Topeka and Shawnee County. It’s one of eight districts in Kansas, and the only in Topeka, to offer the rigorous International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme. The district is recognized for innovation and excellence in education.

USD 345

Seaman School District covers a large rural area in northern Topeka and Shawnee County with many state champion athletics and academic recognitions.

USD 450

Shawnee Heights School District is a rural district in eastern Topeka and Shawnee County with career-technical pathways and extensive academic offerings for students.
Topeka Center for Advanced Learning and Careers
Auburn-Washburn Unified School District 437

Private Schools

Topeka Collegiate teacher helping a student
  • Topeka Collegiate is a K-8 school that emphasizes academics and humanitarian ideals.

Catholic Education

Topeka’s Catholic School System is part of the Kansas City, Kansas Archdiocesan system. Topeka has five Catholic elementary schools and one Catholic High School including:
  • Most Pure Heart of Mary, Christ the King, Holy Family, Mater Dei, and St. Matthews
  • Hayden Catholic High School 

Hayden student doing math
Cair Paravel

Christian Education

Topeka has multiple Christian private schools including: 

  • Cair Paravel-Latin School K-12
  • Heritage Christian School K-12
  • Topeka Lutheran School K-8 
Skip to content